Archive for December 23rd, 2008

Call On Your State Legislator Now To Repeal ACT 51 COLAs

Written by Roberta Biros (a.k.a. “Roberta in Mercer”)

I have already written extensively regarding my opinions on the Legislative COLAs earlier in the month in my blog posts titled “Michele Brooks Gives Back Legislative Pay Raise, but Can More Be Done To Really Save Money in Harrisburg?” and “An Early Christmas Gift For All of Us: Brooks and Robbins are both thumbs-up for Legislative Pay Raise “Give Back”.

For those of you that have not had the pleasure (or time) to read my past blog posts, allow me to review some of the facts briefly:
  • In 1995, Pennsylvania legislators passed a law (ACT 51) that established cost of living increases (referred to as COLAs) for themselves and other state officials, including the governor and judges.
  • In 2005, the legislature pushed through a middle-of-the-night pay raise that was to replace the COLAs. The public forced the legislature to repeal that pay raise just a few months later . . . leaving the COLAs in place.
  • On December 1 of 2008, the latest COLA increase went into effect. The base salary for Pennsylvania lawmakers went up from $76,163 to $78,315; Gov. Ed Rendell’s pay went from $170,150 to $174,914; and Supreme court Chief Justice Ronald Castille’s salary went from $186,582 to $191,876.
  • Based on the weight of the troubled economy (and Pennsylvania’s expected budget shortfall), some lawmakers (like Rep. Michele Brooks, 17th District (R)) came forward immediately and said that they planned on giving back their legislative pay raise. Others soon followed (Robbins, Longietti, and Stevenson of Mercer County all agreed).
  • Unfortunately, the state is unprepared to accept the “give backs”. Alexis Brown, comptroller for the House of Representatives said “I can’t deduct if from their salary”. Instead, anyone that wishes to reject the raise must send a refund to the State Treasury (or, they have the option of donating the money to a charity). Additionally, officials are still required to pay state and federal income taxes on the raises.
To make my opinion on this issue clear to my Legislators, I sent Thank You / Christmas Cards to each of those from Mercer County who volunteered to “give back” their pay raise. I thought that turning down the raise was a great first step, and I congratulated each of them for it. However, I believe that more can be done in this area.

I’ve read in numerous sources that Rep. Barbara McIlvaine Smith, D-Chester, plans to introduce legislation in January that would repeal the 1995 law that paved the way for the annual automatic cost-of-living adjustments for state officials. Her bill would require future salary increases to be passed by the Legislature and signed by the governor. I whole-heartedly support this legislation, and I am going to request that my State Representative and State Senator do the same . . . officially.

I realize that some other conservatives have taken a more aggressive stance on this issue by also “demanding” for a legislative pay cut (5% or 10% have been suggested). My approach is a bit more polite and respectful, and I urge other fiscal conservatives to take a similar stance. I’d like to think that we can all still be civil and respectful while making requests (or demands) of our elected officials.

I’ve drafted a simple letter stating my stand on this issue, and I’m sending it to my Representative (Mark Longietti) and Senator (Bob Robbins). I’d like to urge other conservatives to do the same. I’ve generated a letter in PDF format which can be downloaded HERE. If you’d prefer, you can also call or fax the information to your legislator. Here is the simple verbiage of the letter:

Dear Pennsylvania State Senator / Representative:

I support all Pennsylvania State Legislators who have volunteered to “give back” their 2.8% salary increase, but I still expect more from our lawmakers.

I am writing to you to let you know that I support the REPEAL OF ACT 51 of 1995 which allows for automatic cost of living increases for Pennsylvania Lawmakers (COLAs). I am asking you to openly support ANY effort to REPEAL Act 51, and to do so as an order of first business during the 2009-2010 session.

As a registered voter in your district, I expect a respectful response at your earliest
convenience.

Respectfully,

The letter should be signed with your personal information, and (for Mercer County residents) it can be sent or faxed to:

Hon. Robert D. Robbins
337 Capitol Building
Senate Box 203050
Harrisburg, PA 17120-3050
(717) 787-1322

Hon. Michele Brooks
153B East Wing
PO Box 202017
Harrisburg, PA 17120-2017
(717) 783-5008
Fax: (717) 705-1948

Hon. Mark Longietti
103 Irvis Office Building
PO Box 202007
Harrisburg, PA 17120-2007
(717) 772-4035
Fax: (717) 780-4785

Hon. Richard R. Stevenson
155B East Wing
PO Box 202008
Harrisburg, PA 17120-2008
(717) 783-6438
Fax: (717) 705-1949

Phone numbers are also provided should you wish to make your contact by phone. For those of you not located in Mercer County, send this letter to or your representative or senator. Their e-mail and office addresses are available at http://www.legis.state.pa.us/.

As always, just my opinion.

December 2008
M T W T F S S
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031