Archive for May 8th, 2009

Representative Michele Brooks Provides Her Opinion on House Bill 67

Written by Roberta Biros

On April 30, 2009, I sent an email message to the State House of Representatives email accounts of Representatives Michele Brooks, Mark Longietti, and Dick Stevenson [read the original email message HERE]. The message was CLEARLY and SPECIFICALLY of a legislative nature. On May 4 and May 6 I received written responses from Representatives Stevenson and Longietti, respectively, stating that email queries from me are not welcome due to the ‘political nature of my blog’.

I found it amazing (as well as professionally offensive) that elected officials representing Mercer County would refuse to answer my questions simply because I have a blog. Today, however, my faith in the system has been partially restored.

This afternoon I received a letter from Representative Michele Brooks. At first I was hesitant to open it as I figured that it was going to be more of the same . . . complaints about my questions and restrictions on my freedom to ask questions. I braced myself for the worst.

I was pleasantly surprised to find that rather than chastise me about the ‘political nature of my blog’, Representative Brooks took the time to simply answer the question that I had posed regarding House Bill 67. The full text of the letter can be viewed through a link to the PDF (above right). In her letter (in response to my email asking for his opinion on HB67), Representative Brooks states:

Frankly, I agree with some portions of the legislation. However, my biggest fear with legislation like this is that we create a bigger problem than what we are trying to fix. One of the consequences of this bill, as it is written, will dramatically mandate the increase of inexperienced drivers on our roadways, as well as provide transportation challenges for residents in rural Pennsylvania.

Imagine it . . . a letter from a Legislator simply answering my question and not bothering to tell me to ‘go away and quit asking questions’. Was that so difficult? Should this be so rare?

It seems to me that our Legislators should be able to answer (without much difficulty) simple questions regarding their opinions on votes that they cast. They should be ready, willing, and able educate the electorate about the choices that they make. Whether or not I agree with her final vote (or her reasoning for voting in that way), I respect Representative Brooks for taking the time to explain her actions as a Legislator.

For the sake of fairness and comparison, I’ve provided links to copies of all three of the letters from Brooks, Longietti, and Stevenson for comparison. Feel free to read all three and make a decision for yourself.

Letter from Representative Michele Brooks [CLICK IMAGE TO VIEW PDF]:

Letter from Representative Mark Longietti [CLICK IMAGE TO VIEW PDF]:

Letter from Representative Dick Stevenson [CLICK IMAGE TO VIEW PDF]:

I would like to thank Representative Brooks for taking the time to answer my question.

As always, just my opinion.
~Roberta Biros, Mercer County Conservatives

Bloggers Have a Right to Ask Questions

Written by Roberta Biros

What follows is an email message that was sent this morning in response to recent letters from Representatives Dick Stevenson and Mark Longietti. The letters stated that email questions are not welcome to their State email accounts because of the ‘political nature’ of my blog. The email message was sent to Representative Dick Stevenson, Representative Mark Longietti, and Representative Michele Brooks along with carbon copies to the local and Statewide news outlets (in-print newspapers, on-line newspapers, radio, blogs, and blog portals) and leaders of the House Democrats and House Republicans.

The content below is full and unedited:

SUBJECT: Questions Regarding Legislative Issues

TO:
Representative Michele Brooks
Representative Mark Longietti
Representative Dick Stevenson

On April 30, 2009, I sent an email message to your State House of Representatives email accounts. The message was CLEARLY and SPECIFICALLY of a legislative nature. On May 4 and May 6 I received written responses from Representatives Stevenson and Longietti, respectively, stating that email queries from me are not welcome due to the ‘political nature of my blog’.

I would like to remind you all that it is my right as a taxpayer in these United States to ask ANY type of question of my elected officials that I feel to be appropriate, but most especially as it relates to legislative issues. As a taxpayer in Mercer County, my rights are fully supported to expect transparency and accountability from the elected officials that represent my County of residence.

I realize that upon receipt of a query, you, as Legislators, have every right to ignore my requests based on ‘any prejudice’ that you choose (be it my sex, my race, my age, my profession, my political party, or my hobbies), but please realize that you cannot STOP my right to ask the questions.

I’ve shared your responses with other concerned citizens in the Commonwealth through my blog posts titled State Representative Dick Stevenson Feels That Bloggers Shouldn’t Ask Questions and Democratic and Republican Caucuses Join Ranks to Shut Out Bloggers (read HERE and HERE). Both stories grew legs and were eventually shared State-wide. The feedback that I received was very interesting. My favorite response was posted in an on-line forum and it read “If these letters are real, then the legislators should explain why some people should be treated like second class citizens simply because they utilize the internet.”

While you (with the apparent support of the Democratic and Republican Leadership and Caucuses) may feel that your stand is completely justified and acceptable, it is important that you understand that the voters of Pennsylvania do not necessarily agree.

I will continue to submit queries of a legislative nature to your State-funded email accounts, as it is my right to do so. You also have every right to ignore my messages. Realize, however, that I ultimately intend on exercising my right to free speech by sharing the details of your uncooperative behavior with my fellow citizens.

A SIDE NOTE: While it is apparently of no interest to any of you, House Bill 67 (the subject of my original query) is a polarizing issue and deserves further discussion and explanation. Within Mercer County alone there were two drastically different opinions published regarding the topic. These opinions will be read by thousands of ‘concerned citizens’ right here in Mercer County as well as across the Commonwealth. Perhaps it would be to your benefit to care about the opinions of your constituents and the people that you are supposed to represent.

Roberta Biros
Delaware Township
Mercer County, Pennsylvania, USA

cc:
The Herald
The Record Argus
Penn-Live
News Talk 790 WPIC
Allen Media
GrassrootsPA.com
PAWaterCooler.com
BlogNetNews.com
Representative Todd Eachus (sent via on-line contact form)
Representative H. William DeWeese (sent via on-line contact form)
Representative Samuel H. Smith
Representative Mike Turzai


May 2009
M T W T F S S
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031