Buhl Day: Political Rules Provide Political Power to a Non-Political Group

Written by Roberta Biros

PRESS RELEASE

Monday, September 7th was Labor Day. In Hermitage, the day is referred to as “Buhl Day” (as the term “Labor Day” is too political). A community day with numerous activities was scheduled for Buhl Farm Park. The schedule included a 5K race, parade, car show, entertainment, and food . . . lots and lots of food.

Due to established rules of Buhl Farm Park (read HERE), activities on the grounds of Buhl Farm cannot be of a political or activist nature. The “rules” of the Buhl Day parade stated that the parade needed to remain “non-political”, and could, therefore, only include “elected officials”. Candidates for political races were not permitted to walk in the parade, but they were allowed to walk the parade route prior to the parade which began at 9:30am. As an additional limitation, there is no “politicking” permitting within Buhl Farm Park. Rule #30 of the General Rules and Regulations [read HERE] reads as follows:

“Meetings or speeches of any kind advocating or in opposition to religion, politics, labor, or other controversial subjects are not permitted. No handbills, signs, placards, pictures, pamphlets, periodicals, or other literature on such topics or other controversial subjects shall be distributed or posted on Buhl Farm property.”

Rules are rules . . . right? Well, let’s just see about that.

For those of you that are unfamiliar with Mercer County politics, I’d like to explain that there is only one (1) contested county-wide race in Mercer County this year, and that is the race for the office of Mercer County Treasurer (Biros vs. Steese-Richardson). Due to the “parade rules”, Biros (that’s me) was NOT permitted to take part in the parade because she is not an “elected official”. Her opponent, Steese-Richardson, was not only permitted to be in the parade, but she was permitted to “politick” in the parade with campaign signs and a campaign vehicle (with loudspeakers and music leading the way). I think that if there is to be no “politicking”, it should hold true for elected officials too, but that was simply not the case. By allowing an “incumbent candidate” to politick in the parade and prevent her opponent from politicking, Buhl Farm is in itself being “selectively political”.

More importantly, however, a candidate (not an elected official) for District Judge (Greenville, 3-3) WAS permitted to be in the parade with campaign vehicle and campaign attire . . . clearly breaking the established rules of the parade. By allowing a “candidate” to politick, Buhl Farm again is being “selectively political”.

While the rules seem unfair and unbalanced in general, the fact that the rules were clearly broken by allowing some “candidates” (incumbent or otherwise) to “politick” in the parade is dishonest. Where is the fairness? By only preventing ONE (1) candidate to be in the parade, Buhl Farm Park and the Buhl Day Committee were “being political”.

I was mad as a hornet about it, and I addressed a Buhl Farm Park employee about the issue at the end of the parade. Moments later, I was chased down by a Buhl Farm Committee member and told that I was “not allowed to be here” (at the Buhl Day festivities). My husband and I were told that by wearing shirts that said “Elect Biros County Treasurer” within the park, we were “politicking” and needed to leave the grounds. If we did not leave, we would be forcibly removed. I asked to make a formal complaint, and I was told that “the park and the courthouse are closed today . . . if you want to make a complaint you will need to do so tomorrow”. I asked if I would be arrested if I remained, I was told “yes”. I explained that I would prefer, therefore, to be arrested. I was told “you don’t want to do that”. It was then explained that if I wanted to stay on the grounds I would be required to remove my shirt.

EMBARASSING, UNFAIR, DISRESPECTFUL, AND (yes, I’m going to say it) SHAMEFUL.

Buhl Farm Park and the Buhl Day Committee want to give the community the impression that they are a fair and non-partisan organization, yet their actions clearly show otherwise. They have very specific political views and opinions, and they promote those opinions through the use of force and threats. Their actions (of being political) break their own rules. Buhl Farm Park is clearly “politicking” on Buhl Farm property.

Hmmmm.

I have names, titles, and contact information regarding the parties involved if anyone or any organization is interested.

SPECIAL NOTE:

I contacted the Buhl Farm Park office prior to publishing this post. I was told (in no uncertain terms) that I was treated unfairly and the episode was an error on the part of the Buhl Day Committee. I was told that it would be discussed and they would attempt to prevent it from happening in the future. When I asked for a formal, written, and public apology, my request was denied. I gave Buhl Farm Park the opportunity to rectify this matter on their own, but they refused. I, therefore, will leave the issue to the power of public opinion.

.

0 Responses to “Buhl Day: Political Rules Provide Political Power to a Non-Political Group”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a comment




September 2009
M T W T F S S
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930