A Conservative Without a Party?: Perhaps I’m Not Alone After All

Written by Roberta Biros

On Thursday, January 22, 2008, I published a blog post titled What is a Conservative to Do When They Find Themselves Without a Party?. If you have not read it, I would suggest that you do so when time permits.

The crux of my story is that I am an energetic, opinionated, and conservative woman that has made countless attempts to become involved with the Republican Party in Mercer County Pennsylvania. Every attempt has failed. My most recent attempt left me beaten and battered, but NOT down for the count (I’m far too bull-headed for that). Instead of “licking my wounds”, I openly expressed my opinions about “my situation” to all of you. I didn’t think much of it, I just figured that it would make me feel better, but in the process I hoped that my message would be noticed by other locals who have experienced similar problems. Perhaps we could all get together to form a “support group” of sorts.

Well, to my surprise, the topic (and the candid way that I described my situation) seems to have caught the attention of many across Mercer County and the State of Pennsylvania.

Upon publishing my post, comments began to pour in almost immediately. Some of the comments were public using the comment feature of my Blog Post [you can read those comments HERE]. Other comments were posted as new blog posts on other conservative news forums. And, many comments were received to my personal email account through the invitation that I added at the end of my original story.

What was the message that was conveyed in EVERY SINGLE ONE of the comments that I’ve received? You Are Not Alone.

It seems that the problem that I’ve experienced is a common one. Many of you have been following my post watching as my soap opera unfolded before your eyes. You were waiting to see how things “panned out” for this particular conservative. When you saw the final result of my “efforts to conform”, your hearts sunk in knowing that the same problems continue to plague the Grand Old Party for all of “us”.

I received many comments from folks right here in Mercer County. The comments and concerns all lead back to the GOP Leadership in Mercer (or lack thereof). Many of you stated concerns for your anonymity as a fear of backlash and retribution looms over your head. Good Lord! . . . the problems that we have with our Party are even worse than I had imagined!

I then received comments from people throughout the State of Pennsylvania. It seems that the problems that we are experiencing are not limited to our fine, rural County. No, the problems of the GOP seem to be more far reaching than that.

So what are we to do? Well, it has already begun. Concerned conservatives that have found themselves disenfranchised from the Party have already begun to organize. “Super Secret” meetings with “Super Secret Handshakes” have been happening in back rooms across the State for months (or longer). It is a concentrated underground movement of conservatives who want to take the Republican Party back. They are talking (on the “down low”, of course), they are plotting and scheming and planning. They are uniting for the good of the Party. They all have one goal in mind . . . take the Party away from the self-serving and self-centered bullies who have outstayed their welcome.

The message? “Re-build, Re-unite, and Re-juvenate the Re-publican Party!”

What is the plan . . . exactly? Hmmmm. Only time will tell. Besides, to tell would take all of the fun out of it.

What I CAN tell you is this . . . I’m still fielding comments and conversations from like-thinking conservatives. I’m gathering names and contact information as well as various opinions. So . . .

If you are a “Mercer County Conservative” who has found themselves shunned by the Mercer County Republican Party, email me to open a dialog.

If you are a “Mercer County Conservative” who is currently involved with the Mercer GOP but has concerns about its future, email me to open a dialog.

If you are a “Mercer County Conservative” who is interested in running for an elected office, but the Mercer GOP is not embracing you, email me. I can provide you with contact information for responsible party members that can help.

If you are a Pennsylvania Conservative who is experiencing similar problems in your County, email me. Perhaps by working together we can affect change state-wide.

I realize the sensitive nature of this topic, so all communications will be held in the strictest of confidence.

As always, just my opinion.

~Roberta Biros, Mercer County Conservatives

0 Responses to “A Conservative Without a Party?: Perhaps I’m Not Alone After All”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a comment




January 2009
M T W T F S S
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031