Archive for June 5th, 2009

You Know It’s Time To Clean Up Your Mailing List When . . .

Written by Roberta Biros

It has been a funny week. My mailbox was often the source of much humor (some of which I will discuss in a separate post later this weekend). Today’s mail made me laugh out loud though. I received an envelope from the “Committee to Elect Ginny Steese Richardson”. In it I found an invitation to the Annual Summer Picnic Fundraiser for Mrs. Richardson’s campaign for Mercer County Treasurer. I’ve included a scan of the letter and envelope as proof (upper right). The image is also linked to a file in portable document format (PDF) for closer inspection.

Yes, this is a TRUE STORY. Heck, I couldn’t have made this one up on my own. My OPPONENT in the race for Mercer County Treasurer has invited me to her fundraiser! The real question is, “should I go?”

I suspect that Mrs. Richardson has failed to clean up her mailing list lately, and has included my name from some outdated list of previously loyal Republicans who forked over campaign contributions in the past. It is a great illustration of how much care is taken when a politician asks for money, isn’t it?

My question to all of you is this . . . If I go to the picnic, should I expect that they will need to see my invitation and original envelope in order to get in the gate?

If you intend on attending this function, be sure to bring your cameras. You might be a witness to a very interesting exchange if I decide to show up. Maybe I should sell tickets? (or better yet, maybe I should sell her advertising space for the courtesy posting of her flyer)

.

ACTION ALERT: State Capitol Taxpayers’ Protest June 9th

Courtesty of the Commonwealth Foundation

WHAT: Concerned citizens who will descend on Harrisburg for the all-day Pennsylvania State Capitol Taxpayers’ Protest, will be welcomed by a united coalition led by State Representative Daryl Metcalfe (R-Butler) and more than 30 fiscally conservative state lawmakers, state and national watchdog groups and radio talk shows hosts.

WHO: Some of the outstanding confirmed speakers and organizations participating will include: Jim Broussard, Citizens Against Higher Taxes; Josh Culling, National Taxpayers’ Union; Bob Durgin and R.J. Harris, WHP 580; Patrick Gleason, Americans For Tax Reform; Kevin Shivers, NFIB; David Taylor, Pennsylvania Manufacturers’ Association; Susan Staub, Right to Work; Matt Brouillette, Commonwealth Foundation; Jeffrey Trimbath, The Heritage Foundation; Colin Hanna, Let Freedom Ring and many others. State Senator John Eichelberger and Representatives Kerry Benninghoff, Karen Boback, Paul Clymer, Jim Cox, Tom Creighton, Scott Hutchinson, Rob Kauffman, Tim Krieger, Bob Mensch, Donna Oberlander, Tom Quigley, Kathy Rapp, Mike Reese, Brad Roae, Todd Rock, Sam Rohrer, Curt Schroder, Jerry Stern, Rosemarie Swanger, Will Tallman, Katie True, Mike Turzai, Matt Gabler, Stan Saylor, Sheryl Delozier, Carl Metzgar, Seth Grove, John Payne, Gordon Denlinger and Keith Gillespie are also scheduled to participate.

WHEN: Tuesday, June 9, 2009 at 10 a.m.

WHERE: State Capitol Rotunda, Harrisburg


June 2009
M T W T F S S
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930