Campaign Announcement: Biros Firmly Back in the Race


OFFICIAL CAMPAIGN ANNOUNCEMENT

On April 19, 2009, I ceased campaign activities for the office of Mercer County Treasurer. I refused to be a part of the ‘dirty politics’ that were going on in the Mercer County Republican and Democratic Parties as I was being used as a convenient conduit for personal arguments and political battles. I stated that once the Primary Election was finalized, it was my intention to remove my name from the ballot for the General Election in order for the Democratic Party to assign a replacement candidate.

Since my announcement, I have received absolutely no personal communication from the leaders of the Mercer County Democratic Party or any individual that is interested becoming my ballot replacement. I have, however, been contacted by residents expressing disappointment with my decision to drop out of the race. They stated that they were looking forward to finally having a ‘choice’ in November and they still hoped for an opportunity for change in the Office of Mercer County Treasurer. They feel that I am the best candidate to move the office forward.

I have, therefore, decided that it is my duty and responsibility to remain on the ballot for the General Election. I owe it to the voters of the County and the people that encouraged and supported me in gaining the nomination. Most importantly, the voters of Mercer County deserve an opportunity for change and improvement in their County government, and I am the only qualified and committed individual that is willing to take on the challenge.

A friend once told me “Bad Things Happen When Good People Do Nothing”. While the saying has various interpretations, to me it says that it is the responsibility of “good people” to do “good things”. It is my opinion that sitting back and doing nothing is not a responsible option for me. Although it may often be the easiest course of action, it does nothing to promote good ideas, good leadership, or good government in our community.

Politics in Mercer County (and elsewhere) is controlled by entrenched politicians. The system is designed to encourage more ‘politicians’ to be involved, and to discourage non-politicians. It is a common scenario for political outsiders to run into numerous road blocks that are designed to discourage them. Many (perhaps most) people would be dispirited by these roadblocks. I am the type of person, however, that is challenged by adversity. Rather than stopping at a road block or turning around at a brick wall, I try to find a way to go around the obstacle or climb over it if necessary. Why? . . . Because it is the right thing to do as an involved and concerned citizen.

Unfortunately, I must also be realistic. Without the open support and assistance of my party the campaign will be extremely difficult, but I’m committed to this race for the long haul regardless of the potential lack of support from party leaders. With most traditional avenues of campaigning and promotion unavailable to me through the support of my party, it will be necessary for me to run a very unconventional campaign. Our efforts will be primarily grassroots in nature and we will be taking our message directly to the people of Mercer County . . . one voter at a time.

The election in November will offer the voters of Mercer County two clear choices. The first choice is that of a 16-year incumbent and career politician who is entrenched in politics and guided by the good of her party. She has become complacent with the duties and responsibilities of her position, and she sees her office as a career to which she is entitled. The second choice is an energetic and intelligent business woman who has a desire to upgrade and streamline an outdated office. She has no political bosses, but is driven by a simple desire to serve the people of the County. She believes that the office of Mercer County Treasurer is a public service . . . and NOT a career.

I will take my message to the ‘public’ and allow them to make the final decision of who will serve them. The choice is yours.

I am looking forward to making personal contact with as many people in the County as I can between now and November. If anyone is interested in reviewing the details of my background, qualifications, or platform, they may do so through my website at http://www.electbiros.com/.

Roberta Biros
Candidate for the Office of Mercer County Treasurer

8 Responses to “Campaign Announcement: Biros Firmly Back in the Race”


  1. 1 Anonymous June 9, 2009 at 10:23 am

    This is great news! The leaders of the Mercer County Democrats should realize that it is not their call to decide if you are welcome at PUBLIC events. They look foolish and childish when they say such things. It is the voters who decide who will win this race not the few career politicians and leaders of either party. As it should be. Good luck Roberta!Amy in Mercer

  2. 2 Roberta Biros June 9, 2009 at 10:45 am

    Hi Amy, and thanks for the supportive comment.If I can receive the backing of my party, I would accept it graciously and be thankful for it. Unfortunately, past experiences do not make me terribly optimistic at this point. According to the front page news in The Herald this morning, Bob Lark laughed when he stated “She doesn’t trust us. This is ridiculous.” . . . yet he has provided me with no reason to trust him thus far. I am hopeful that he is sincere when he states that I will be welcomed by the party. Time will tell.

  3. 3 Anonymous June 10, 2009 at 11:51 pm

    What happened to your post saying you were quitting (not suspending) the campaign? You know, the one that said you were going to withdraw your name if you won the primary?Thank goodness other news sits have it archived!You are well on your way to be a career politician that you reject. You've already gone back on your word and done a flip-flop. But at least it's for "the good of the people."And what will you do when the politics turn nasty again? Isn't that why you left? Are you now okay with it? You said that you didn't want to be part of that, but now you do, as declared by your own re-entry.Oh, well – it will be a fun summer and fall! It will be fun to vote for you just to see what happens next.

  4. 4 Anonymous June 11, 2009 at 10:56 am

    Glad to see that you are back in. My wife and I will be voting for you in November, and we'll tell our friends and coworkers to vote for you to. Best of LuckDan

  5. 5 Anonymous June 11, 2009 at 11:48 am

    I saw this in the paper and it is good news. Don't let those b*st*rds get you down. I only hope that things get worked out with Lark and the Dems. He said that they will do what is "right and proper" so maybe there is still hope.

  6. 6 Roberta Biros June 11, 2009 at 2:04 pm

    Hello again Anonymous #1. My records show that you submitted a comment at the end of last month too, so I see that you are a returning reader. Thanks for visiting.For starters, everything that I’ve ever published is available as public record through the internet, so I’m certainly not here to hide anything. It is funny how you have already elevated me to being a “career politician” while I’ve never even held a public office, but I’ll take it that this is a symbol of your overwhelming optimism . . . thanks.I’ve been very open about my reasons for ceasing my campaign in mid-April. The problems were two-fold. First, there were the problems that I experienced with my acceptance by the Democratic Party. The second problem was a group of “disgruntled Republicans” that attempted to hi-jack my campaign and use me as a weapon in their personal vendettas. That group engaged in dirty politics against my opponent without my knowledge or approval, and I found it completely unacceptable. They intended on continuing the attacks in an effort to personally and professionally attack Ms. Richardson (and others). When I ceased my campaign, both of these sets of problems also ceased. The public letters from the Democratic Chairman stopped. The attacks in the name of my campaign from the “disgruntled Republicans” also stopped. When I ceased my campaign, I explained that it was my intention to withdrawal after the Primary so that the Democratic Party could replace my name on the ballot. Unfortunately, from the time of my announcement NO parties ever approached me regarding an interest in running. Additionally, my party showed no interest in discussing the matter. After the Primary, I had a big decision to make, and after much discussion with my husband and family I made that decision. I felt that I had a responsibility to give the voters of the County a choice. I owed it to those that supported me, and I refused to let the Democratic ticket remain empty. I am still the only qualified candidate that is willing to take on this challenge.Regarding the “dirty politics”, you say:And what will you do when the politics turn nasty again? Isn't that why you left? Are you now okay with it? You said that you didn't want to be part of that, but now you do, as declared by your own re-entry.I’ve never declared that I’m ‘okay’ with dirty politics. I certainly AM NOT. My remaining in the race does not ‘declare’ that I want to be a part of it. I’m hopeful that those that were instigating the mud slinging have lost interest in me and my race. I asked them then — and I repeat it now — this is NOT their fight. If they wish to attack people for the sake of vengeance, they will need to do so away from me and my campaign as that is NOT what I’m about. I don’t want conflict and I have no interest in the infighting of those within the Republican Party. My concern is with good government and public service . . . it’s that simple.

  7. 7 Roberta Biros June 11, 2009 at 2:05 pm

    Hi Dan. Thank you for your kind words and support. I hope to meet you on the campaign trail sometime soon.

  8. 8 Roberta Biros June 11, 2009 at 2:05 pm

    Hello Anonymous #2.Thank you for your words of encouragement. I’ve actually had an opportunity to talk with Bob Lark this week. He had stated in the press that he would respect the fact that I won the Primary and that he would do the right thing when the time came. It was a relief to hear the words come straight from his mouth, however. We had a long discussion and Mr. Lark assured me that I will have the support and guidance of the Democratic Party along with the other members of the Democratic ticket. He explained that I will, in fact, be welcome at all of the upcoming event as a solid member of the ‘ticket”. We are both focused on the task at hand and we are unified in our goals.


Leave a comment




June 2009
M T W T F S S
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930