EVENT ANNOUNCEMENT UPDATE: T.E.A. Party in Mercer County

EVENT ANNOUNCEMENT (updated June 25, 2009)

Mercer County T.E.A. Party
(Taxed Enough Already)

A Mercer County T.E.A. Party (Taxed Enough Already) will be held on the Courthouse Square in Mercer on July 4 at 10 A.M.

An exciting program is planned to raise awareness of reckless government spending in Harrisburg and Washington, massive national debt, and government takeovers. Citizens of all political persuasion are urged to attend and stand against the flood of irresponsible spending and taxation.

Guest speaker is Jerry Bowyer of Pittsburgh – a columnist, author, entrepreneur, financial writer, and talk show host.

Jerry Bowyer’s Bio

Jerry has worked extensively in finance and economics. He has worked as an auditor and a tax accountant with Arthur Andersen and Co, worked with Federated Investors, consulted extensively in various privatization efforts for Allegheny County, founded the influential economic think tank, the Allegheny Institute and lectured extensively at local universities, business and civic groups. He has been a member of three investment committees, most recently for Benchmark Financial, Pittsburgh’s largest financial services firm. He recently joined the investment committee of Ron Blue & Co. Jerry is a CNBC Contributor and has written often for CNBC.com, Forbes.com, The Wall Street Journal as well as many other publications. He is the author of the Bush Boom, and the upcoming Free Market Capitalists Survival Guide to be published by Harper Collins.

Jerry has consulted extensively with the White House on matters pertaining to the present economic crisis. He is the Chairman of Bowyer Media which produces the state-wide TV program Pennsylvania Newsmakers, and various programs on 1360 am, also known as WMNY, Pittsburgh’s Business Talk. Jerry has been quoted by the New York Times, the Wall Street Journal, Forbes Magazine, the International Herald Tribune and various local newspapers. He has been a contributing editor of National Review Online, The New York Sun and Townhall Magazine. Jerry has hosted daily radio programs on 1360, and 101.5 FM as well as TV programs on PCNC and WPCB. He as one of the founding members of WQED’s On-Q Friday Roundtable. He served on the transition committee of the Jim Roddey Adminstration. He has guest hosted for the Bill Bennett radio program as well as radio programs in Chicago, Dallas and Las Angeles.
He is the happy husband of Susan, father of Christopher, Jeremy, Grace, Hope, Mercy, Charlie and Jack, and a vestryman and reader in the Episcopal Church.

His wife, Susan, grew up at Lake Latonka and is a graduate of Lakeview High School.

For additional information contact: Mary at 724-662-4359

BLOG POST UPDATE AND CLARIFICATION:

The Herald published information about this event today HERE. Unfortunately, The Herald provided inaccurate data regarding the theme of the rally. Upon seeing the write up in The Herald, I contacted one of the event organizers. The Herald implied that the focus of the event would be a Christian gathering with hymns and complaints about the breakdown of the family. That is simply not the case. I’ve been told by those directly involved with the planning of the event that the focus will remain exactly as it was stated in this announcement . . . “Taxes, spending, government takeovers” and the speaker (described above) will speak on those topics!

I want to make it very clear that this is a non-partisan event focused on the concerns of ALL TAXPAYERS. The issues will be fiscal responsibility and good government. This is NOT an event regarding social issues with religious undertones.
.

3 Responses to “EVENT ANNOUNCEMENT UPDATE: T.E.A. Party in Mercer County”


  1. 1 ST July 5, 2009 at 8:46 am

    Hi, Roberta -Thank you for posting on this event; your announcement had more information than anything else I could find by Googling on the web. I made the 1.5 hour trip from Murrysville to attend with my three oldest children (7, 10, and 12), and we listened with interest to Jerry as he made a compelling case that those in our national government are in violation of the constitution on several fronts. I did not record the event, and was hoping that you or someone else could post video (or audio) of Jerry's speech. I will be helping my son to learn American history this fall, and want to make sure that we can draw on the points he made yesterday.BTW, I was very impressed with the little bit of Mercer that I saw. The architecture of the Courthouse was impressive, and the townsquare and surrounding community was charming.I did want to make a couple of suggestions for the next time you (or the organizers) announce an event like this: (1) post the address, or better yet a link to Google Maps or Mapquest, so that those who are unfamiliar with the area will find it easier to attend; (2) provide some hints on parking for the event; (3) provide an agenda (if possible). I spent a good bit of time trying to find the address of the Mercer County Courthouse…I was getting multiple addresses returned when I searched. Also, parking turned out to be no problem, but I was wondering about it beforehand. Thanks again and take care,Steve ThomasMurrysville, PA

  2. 2 Roberta Biros July 5, 2009 at 1:04 pm

    Thanks for your comments.I apologize for not including more information about the event as you described. I was posting the details as a favor to the event organizers, and I think it was assumed that most of those attending would be locals. I was at the event on Saturday, and I found that MANY of the attendees were from out-of-town (and out-of-state for that matter). I spoke to folks from as far away as Indiana, Kansas, and Florida. Did I have an opportunity to speak with you? I met most people while I was handing out patriotic necklaces, although I admit that I was unable to canvas the entire crowd. I was born and raised Murrysville, so I know the distance that you needed to travel to take part in the event. Thank you for making the trip. My husband and I moved to Mercer County in January of 2006 from North Huntingdon (also in Westmoreland County). We always admired the “charm” of Mercer and we traveled here often on summer vacations. We liked the atmosphere and the people so much that we decided to live here permanently. If you can’t come here to live, I’m glad that you came to visit us for the 4th of July. Please make sure to make the hour and a half trip often, as we have plenty of family friendly attractions throughout Mercer County that make for a wholesome and affordable vacation option.I’ll be sure to pass your comments along to the event organizers, and thank you again for your input.

  3. 3 ST July 5, 2009 at 3:35 pm

    Thanks for your prompt response, Roberta. 'Sorry that I missed speaking with you in person. It's neat that you came from Murrysville, yourself–small world. Thank you for passing my comments on to the organizers (I saw a few video recorders and really hope the event will be posted somewhere…). Take care and God bless,Steve


Leave a comment




June 2009
M T W T F S S
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930